42 Years Young

Happy Happy Birthday to my baby Winni!! If you haven’t caught on yet, Winni is my miniature long-haired dachshund!! Today she is 6 years old which is 42 in dog years!! I guess the “Oh she’s just a puppy” excuse is definitely no longer valid!! Recently Winni had surgery for a slipped vertebrae, common in dogs with long bodies like the dachshund, so she has been on steroids and limited mobility! Poor thing! She has recovered well but along the way she has gained a few pounds due to her limited walking/jumping/exercise abilities and increased appetite from the steroid medication! For her birthday we decided to buy her some new fetch balls to help keep her active and moving…and the verdict…

Winni Bday Ball

 

She is still lazy. We will have to work on the concept of “fetch” Anyone have some tips on how to teach your dog how to play fetch at an older age????

Anyways, today pretty much consisted of watching the Cowboys ALMOST win, then losing by 1 lousy point in the last 30 seconds or so, go figure. It is quite painful being a Cowboys fan sometimes… After that I met up with my family at Chilis for a birthday dinner for Winni (even though she wasn’t with us) I used to be afraid of eating it and trying to be healthy but there is always a way to find something decent on the menu. At Chilis I stayed away from the chips and queso by drinking a lot of water and chewing gum. For my entree I order the lighter choice Mango-Chile Chicken with two sides of broccoli instead of rice and broccoli. It had great flavor! It was sweet yet spicy, just how I like my meals!!

After dinner we headed to my parents to have cake for Winni, again, I know she didn’t have any but we celebrate for her. Earlier on today I baked a carrot cake for the festivities. I will be staying away from the cake as I am currently trying to lose about 7 lbs before the holidays begin… I will find some other way to get that sweet tooth though (maybe some fresh fruit)

Anyways, I hope you all have had a great weekend, off to spend some time with my family and birthday doggie!! I am currently reading the third installment of Veronica Roth’s Divergent Trilogy called Allegiant and I am addicted!! I am about halfway done now and I cannot put it down. I have been a fan of the series for a few years now and have been dying waiting for this last book!

allegiant book

 

Leave a Reply

