Tis the Season… for football.

Happy Saturday fit fam!! I hope you are all having a nice and relaxing weekend so far. I am currently awaiting for my beloved Longhorns to take on the TCU Horned Frogs. My Saturdays (and lets face it Sundays as well) are FILLED with football, it’s my favorite Season!! Lets do some backpedalling to earlier this day though!

Breakfast

I crawled out of bed sans alarm at about 7:30 am (actually sleeping in for me) and headed straight for the coffee. While I brewed some yummy Archer Farm Brand Pumpkin Spice Coffee I decided on something sweet for breakfast. If you’re anything like me that internal battle between deciding whether I want sweet or savory for breakfast can be a tad brutal. For me, sweet usually wins, what can I say… gotta get that sweet tooth satisfied!

I decided on making yummy Pumpkin Protein Waffles (based off of the recipe from mindovermunch.com but a little modified)

Pumpkin Protein Waffles (serves 1)

-1/4 c of oats (I used old fashion, you can use quick)
-1/3 c of liquid egg whites (about two egg whites)
-1/4 c of reduced fat (1%) or fat-free cottage cheese (could probably sub greek yogurt)
-1.5 Tbsp Coconut Flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill organic high-fiber)
-2 Tbsp Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (Can sub in whatever milk you have)
-1 tsp baking powder
-1/4 c canned pumpkin (I used Libbys brand)
-1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
-1/4 tsp cinnamon
-1/4 tsp liquid stevia drops (can use splenda or other sweetener of choice)
-1/4 tsp maple extract (can omit or sub other extract of choice)

Mix all ingredients into a blender or processor while waffle iron or skillet (if making pancakes) is heating. Once iron is ready poor batter over and wait until it is done. Then most importantly, face plant! My waffle iron made two waffles with this recipe but it just depends on the size of your waffle iron!!

I topped my waffles with some Maple Almond butter and sugar-free maple syrup, so good and so guilt-free!!

Pumpkin Protein Waffles

After I digested my waffles I headed out to my local gym to partake in my favorite Les Mills BodyPump class after warming up with 30 mins on an elliptical trainer!! This is a great strength training and toning class that moves at a fast pace keeping you moving the whole time.

Dinner

After working up a sweat at the gym I came home and had a pita sandwich with carrots and hummus for lunch then snacked on a pink lady apple and some crunchy earth balance peanut butter later on. Throughout the afternoon I helped my younger sister edit her college recruitment volleyball video and let me just say (bragging on myself here) it came out real good!!

After that I ran some errands with my sister to get some stuff for her halloween costume (she is being a minion from Despicable Me) and to run to Petsmart since its my baby Winni’s 7th birthday tomorrow, had to get her a little gift!! Once we got back we were HUNGRY so we munched on some homemade corn tortilla chips (I will also share this recipe) and some Archer Farm Seasonal Pumpkin Harvest Salsa!!

chips and salsa

Now finally onto dinner!! I roasted a spaghetti squash yesterday ( I posted a “How to” on roasting squash under ‘Recipes’ then ‘dinner’ ) then topped it with some garlic lovers tomato sauce, had some roasted choobie (chicken boobie), and balsamic roasted broccoli and cauliflower on the side!! It was delish!! Dessert will be happening in a little while, I’m thinking personal sized pumpkin mug cake… I’ll share the recipe tomorrow if it’s a winner.

Squash Spaghettie

I hope everyone enjoys their Saturday night, the game has started so I am off to cheer on the Longhorns!!! Texas Fight Texas Fight yay Texas Fight!!! \m/

Leave a Reply

